Sharing a computer or account

You need to consider the security and privacy of your data and browsing habits when you share your computer with others or when you use a publicly-accessible computer and user account, such as in a library or at an airport kiosk.

All browsers keep records of where you have been on the Internet and even store webpages and other files, such as graphics, in a local folder known as the "cache". The cache folder can thus contain sensitive information. Similarly to the cache, the history of the sites you have visited may remain on a shared computer and account. If you do not want other users to know about the sites you have visited, you need to clear this type of data.

This topic provides some tips for maintaining security and privacy for your information and browsing habits when you use Opera on a shared computer.

Private browsing

In Opera versions 15 onwards, private windows allow you to browse without leaving any trace of the websites you visit. When you close a private window, the history, cache, and data related to that window are deleted.

If you deliberately save data to the computer or download a file, you will need to specifically delete it if you want to keep it private.

Delete private data

If you are not using the private browsing functionality, you can still protect your privacy by configuring Opera to clear the history and cache or other type of private data when you close the browser. To do this, go to Settings from the main menu . Click the 'Privacy & security' tab on the left sidebar. Under 'Privacy' click the Clear Browsing Data… button. From the dialog, you can check-select what you would like to delete (browsing history, download history, cookies, cache, or passwords) and how far back in time you would like to do so.

Disable or clear data from the password manager

If you use the password manager to save your passwords, you may want to disable it when sharing a computer or using a public one. Go to Settings from the main menu . Click the 'Privacy & security' tab on the left sidebar. Under 'Passwords' untick the Offer to save passwords I enter on the web checkbox.

If you use the password manager to save your personal data for auto-completion in online forms, you can clear this information by clicking the Manage saved passwords button. From the dialog, you can search for passwords and tell Opera to forget information by hovering over an entry and click the 'X' that appears to the right.

Page 6 of 10

Return to: Guide to security and privacy in Opera — Topics